Tag Archives: Polling Places

Precinct consolidation table and Board of Elections 2014-07-22

Still 9 precincts this year like last year, but one of the polling locations has changed (Pine Grove to Trinity), and the precinct boundaries have changed. Yet again the board of elections plans still more fiddling with precincts this year. There was a Special Called Board of Elections meeting yesterday, and a regular meeting is 9AM Tuesday 22 July 2014.

Let’s update last year’s polling place table. Continue reading

Precincts changed yet again for May 2014 Special Election and Primary

Where can you vote on Tuesday May 20th, Election Day for the Special Election for Lowndes County Commission District 5, for the Lowndes County Board of Education, for the elections for judges, and for the primaries for the Georgia statehouse, statewide offices, and U.S. Congress? Yes, precincts have changed yet again, but you can find your polling place in My Voter Page by the Georgia Secretary of State. Or you can zoom and pan on the VALOR GIS Election Boundary Map.

Whichever way you find your polling place, it’s time to get out and vote. If we don’t, why should Atlanta pay any attention to us poor rural stepchildren?

Continue reading

Early Election returns

So far, according to Lowndes County’s online election results, SPLOST is winning more than 2 to 1, while Bruce Cain and Rose Adams are neck-and-neck for a plurality for Mayor in Hahira with incumbent Wayne Bullard a distant third and Johnny L. Stalvey trailing. Kenneth Davis is way ahead of Traci Selph Davis for Hahira City Council District 2.

In Lake Park, it looks like Bert Rutland is going to make it onto the council this time, while Eric Schindler will remain Mayor.

For Valdosta City Council, incumbents Alvin Payton (District 4) and Robert Yost (District 6) are leading, as is Sandra J. Tooley (District 2), although not by as wide a margin.

For Valdosta School Board, Lizzie Shumphard (District 2) is way in the lead, incumbent Vanassa Flucas (District 2) is even farther ahead, and incumbent Warren Sweet Lee (District 3) is sailing in unopposed.

Apparently some results in Valdosta are still coming in: Continue reading

Where’s your polling place in Lowndes County? 2013-11-05

“When did they change our polling place?” said the neighbor on the phone. The same time they do every time: before the next election. Why do they do this? Supposedly to reduce costs, now that so many people vote early, and all early voting is at the Board of Elections, they keep reducing the number of precincts, this time down from 12 last year to 9 this year. Another effect is to confuse everybody, and that has the result that some people just won’t vote. Quick version: go to My Voter Page by the Georgia Secretary of State.

According to the Lowndes County Board of Elections, Lowndes County Polling Places: Continue reading

My Voter Page by GA Sec. State

Still confused after seeing the list of polling places? Want to know which precinct you're in? My Voter Page provided by the Georgia Secretary of State can tell you, along with a map and directions. It can also provide you with a sample ballot.

Hm, here's the T-SPLOST referendum wording:


Southern Georgia District T-SPLOST

(Vote for One)

Provides for local transportation projects to create jobs, improve roads and safety with citizen oversight.
Shall Lowndes County's transportation system and the transportation network in this region be improved by providing for a 1 percent special district transportation sales and use tax for the purpose of transportation projects and programs for a period of ten years?
  • YES
  • NO

Well, now that they mention it, I'd say T-SPLOST shall not improve the transportation system in this county or region, and that's why I'm voting against it.


Precincts for 2012 elections

Polling Places, Lowndes County, Georgia, 2012 According to the Lowndes County Board of Elections, the current voting precincts for Tuesday’s 31 July 2012 Primary Election, including the T-SPLOST referendum, are as listed below.

These are not the same as the precincts for last year’s elections.

Precinct 1 Hahira Historical Society, 116 E. Lawson St., Hahira
Precinct 2 Old Pine Grove Elementary School Gym, 4023 Pine Grove Road, Valdosta
Precinct 3 Trinity Presbyterian Church, 3501 Bemiss Road Valdosta
Precinct 4 Northside Baptist Church Gym, 200 E. Park Avenue, Valdosta
Precinct 5 Jaycee Park Activities Building, 2306 Jaycee Shack Road, Valdosta
Precinct 6 Naylor City Hall, 8753 Georgia Highway 135, Naylor
Precinct 7 Wood Valley Community Center, 1907 Gornto Road, Valdosta
Precinct 8 Rainwater Conference Center, One Meeting Place, Valdosta
Precinct 9 New Clyattville Fire Station, 5080 Madison Highway, Clyattville
Precinct 10 Mildred Hunter Community Center, 509 S. Fry St., Valdosta
Precinct 11 Dasher City Hall, 3686 US Hwy 41 S. Dasher
Precinct 12 South Lowndes Recreation Center, 6440 Ocean Pond Ave, Lake Park

View Lowndes County Polling Places 2012 in a larger map


Polling Places, Lowndes County, Georgia

There’s an election going on, with the primary this Tuesday, July 20th. Here’s a google map of Lowndes County Polling Places:

View Lowndes County Polling Places in a larger map

To find out where you should go vote, go to the Georgia Secretary of State My Voter Page. It will be one of these places: Continue reading